All Things Plants

Or

Username:

Password:

[ Join now ]

Recommendations: Mary's Garden Patch, reviewed by Trish

About Mary's Garden Patch
Website address: http://www.marysgardenpatch.com/
E-Mail address: CustomerService@MarysGardenPatch.com
Phone number: 866-396-5108
Physical address: 2323 Seawillow Rd
Lockhart, TX 78644

Review by Trish on Jul 19, 2012 9:05 AM
It is my pleasure to introduce you to Mary's Garden Patch. Mary's specializes in bulbs, corms, and rhizomes for both spring and fall. I am impressed by both the variety and the selection of different cultivars that are offered. There is a great selection from which to choose, and very good descriptions and pictures of all of their plants to help you with your order.

Mary's Garden Patch tells me that they are committed to great customer service and that their goal is that their customers have the highest quality products from them which will produce beautiful plants and flowers to enjoy in our gardens for years to come. There is a good deal of information on the website on how to grow the plants that they offer, as well as a newsletter with helpful tips.

Another feature of Mary's Garden Patch is the bulk order. They offer bulbs by the half and full bushel on their website. If you want even more than that at one time, you can call for further discounts on even larger orders. Daylilies, some hostas, and some Japanese irises are also offered in clump quantities of 10-15 fans per clump at a discount.

I asked Mary if they ever run sales, and she replied that they do occasionally run specials. In addition, I note that their prices are reasonably low already. The shipping prices are based on product price, and are listed on the site.

Another thing that you should note is the shipping times. They only ship between 3/10-6/15 for their spring bulbs, and 9/15-1/15 for their fall bulbs. Fall bulbs can be ordered at any time, but will not ship until the earliest date for your zone.

My order was for one upright elephant ear, one crinum lily, and one clump of daylilies. Each plant was shipped in its own bag (paper for the bulbs, plastic for the daylilies), with the name of the plant on each bag.

Thumb of 2012-06-07/Trish/e19d71

Both of the bulbs are a nice large size and firm with good roots. Neither had new growth from this year.

Thumb of 2012-06-07/Trish/406e04 Thumb of 2012-06-07/Trish/55654f

The dayliles were a huge clump with lots of corms and roots. The top growth was obviously starved for sunlight and a very pale yellow/green. However, daylilies are tough little plants, and they looked in good health, so I wasn't worried.

Thumb of 2012-06-07/Trish/3c34ab Thumb of 2012-06-07/Trish/2848b4

As of the writing of this article, my plants have been in the ground for 7 days. The daylilies are nicely green and beginning to show new growth. The crinum stalk has greened up and is doing just fine. We're still waiting on the alocasia, but elephant ears are usually pretty pokey to come up so that's no cause for concern. Keep in mind as well that I am at the very end of my planting season, so it is a bit harder on my plants to get going right now. We are already in the mid 90s during the afternoons.

Mary's Garden Patch has generously offered our ATP members a discount code of 10% off of your order! The code is: ATP10 and is good through 7/31/2012. Remember that spring bulb shipping ends on 6/15, so if you are planning to order spring bulbs, get your order in quickly!! Also, you can order those fall bulbs with this code, and they will ship after 9/15. Mary also tells me that they want to offer our wonderful gardeners an extra special code for the fall, so stay tuned for that!!

Disclaimer: I was not paid for this review, but the company did provide me with the products I am reviewing. All opinions are my own honest impressions.

« View all reviews of Mary's Garden Patch

« Post your own review of this company

« Return to the Recommendations front page

© 2014 All Things Plants
Times are presented in US Central Standard Time
Today's site banner is by Paul2032 and is called "Hosta Wolverine"

About - Contact - Terms of Service - Privacy - Memberlist - Acorns - Links - Ask a Question - Newsletter

Follow us on TwitterWe are on Facebook.We Pin at Pinterest.